115th Anniversary Luncheon
Committee of Seventy Logo
English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French Spanish Vietnamese

115th Anniversary Luncheon

Celebrating the 15th & 19th Amendments: Race, Gender and the Vote in 2020 with Akhil Reed Amar and Sherrilyn Ifill

About the Program


Akhil Reed Amar

Akhil Reed Amar is Sterling Professor of Law and Political Science at Yale University, where he teaches constitutional law in both Yale College and Yale Law School. His work has won awards from both the American Bar Association and the Federalist Society, and he has been cited by Supreme Court justices across the spectrum in more than three dozen cases. Full bio found here.

Sherrilyn Ifill

Sherrilyn Ifill is the President and Director-Counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc. (LDF), the nation’s premier civil rights law organization fighting for racial justice and equality. LDF was founded in 1940 by legendary civil rights lawyer (and later Supreme Court justice) Thurgood Marshall, and became a separate organization from the NAACP in 1957. The lawyers at the Legal Defense Fund developed and executed the legal strategy that led to the Supreme Court’s decision in Brown v. Board of Education, widely regarded as the most transformative and monumental legal decision of the 20th century. Ifill is the second woman to lead the organization.  Full bio found here.

Moderated by:
Dave Davies has covered state and local politics and government in Philadelphia and Pennsylvania for more than 35 years. From 2010 until June of this year, he was senior reporter for WHYY-FM, a public radio station in Philadelphia. He’s now a regular contributor and fill-in host for Fresh Air with Terry Gross. Before joining WHYY he was a reporter and columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News, where he worked from 1990 to 2010. Before joining the Daily News, Dave was city hall bureau chief for KYW News Radio, and city hall correspondent for WHYY. He was born and raised in Texas, and graduated from the University of Texas in 1975. He lives in Philadelphia with his wife, Marna Sternbach. They have two grown children.

Tickets to the luncheon are available for purchase. Sponsorship and ticket information can be found on the 115th Anniversary Luncheon Sponsorship Pledge Form. For more information, email Lauren Cristella.

Annual Luncheon Co-Chairs

Michael C. Carbone - Regional President, TD Bank
Thomas A. Decker, Esq. - Vice-Chairman, Cozen O'Connor
Susan Jacobson - President, Jacobson Strategic Communications
Philip P. Jaurigue - President, Sabre Systems, Inc.
Eric Kraeutler, Esq., Partner, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Laura LaRosa, Director of Business Development, Glenmede
Leslie Anne Miller, Esq. - Principal, Leslie Anne Miller, LLC
Bret S. Perkins - Vice President, External and Government Affairs, Comcast Corporation
Nancy R. Peterson, Esq. - Vice President & Deputy General Counsel, Allied Universal 
Michael R. Stiles, Esq.

2019 Sponsors (11/18/19)

Brandywine Realty Trust

Comcast Corporation
Independence Blue Cross
TD Bank

Leslie Anne Miller, LLC
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Philadelphia Phillies

AmeriHealth Caritas
Cozen O'Connor
Day & Zimmermann
Dechert LLP
Ernst & Young
Essity North America Inc.
FS Investments
Fulton Bank
Hersha Hotels & Resorts
Pepper Hamilton LLP
Sabre Systems Inc.
Saltz, Mongeluzzi, Barrett & Bendesky PC 
Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis LLP
Stradley Ronon 
Thomas Jefferson University

Allied Universal Security Services
Alternative Investment Exchange (AIX)
Barbara Adams
Blank Rome LLP
Brookman, Rosenberg, Brown & Sandler
Citizens Bank
The Dittus Family
Diversified Search
DLA Piper
DLS International
Drexel University
EisnerAmper LLP
Entercom Communications Corporation
Flo-Tech a Flex Technology Group Company
Holman Enterprises
Jacobson Strategic Communications
Kleinbard LLC
Laura and Richard Vague
Liberty Coca-Cola Beverages
Northern Trust
Post & Schell, P.C.
Public Financial Management
Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP
Spring Garden Lending
Tactix Real Estate Advisors, LLC 
Temple University
University of Pennsylvania
Wells Fargo Bank
White and Williams LLP
William and Linda Madway
William Penn Foundation

Aletheia Henry
Arcweb Technologies
Ceisler Media & Issue Advocacy
Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC
Chris Hanson
Obermayer Rebmann Maxwell & Hippel LLP
Philadelphia Eagles
Steve Miller
Reading Terminal Market
Ted Robb
Bruce Sacks
Your Part-Time Controller, LLC