Committee of Seventy Board Elects Bret S. Perkins Chairman
Committee of Seventy Logo
English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French Spanish Vietnamese

Committee of Seventy Board Elects Bret S. Perkins Chairman

January 11, 2017


David Thornburgh
President and CEO
(267) 861-6040 (office)

Committee of Seventy Board
Elects Bret S. Perkins Chairman
Five New Members and Two Emeritus Board Members Also Named

(PHILADELPHIA, PA) The Committee of Seventy Board of Directors has elected Bret S. Perkins as Chairman. Mr. Perkins, who is Vice President of External & Government Affairs at Comcast Corporation, succeeds Dr. Stephen S. Tang CEO of the University City Science Center.

“Bret is a thoughtful, creative, energetic leader who is passionate about Philadelphia and deeply committed to its future,” Dr. Tang says. “He is poised to lead Seventy as it accomplishes its ambitious agenda as an advocate for engaged citizens, better politics and better government.”

Mr. Perkins has been a member of Seventy’s Board of Directors and Executive Committee for the past decade. He will be Seventy's first African-American Chair in its 112-year history.

“I am honored to serve as the Chairman of Committee of Seventy,” said Mr. Perkins. “As someone who lives, works, and votes in Philadelphia, I see the need for the work of Seventy every day. In order for our City to be strong, we need informed and engaged citizens and an efficient and transparent government. Philadelphia has its challenges, but there is also tremendous potential within our grasp. I know the Committee of Seventy can play an integral role in Philadelphia’s bright future.”

In addition, Marilyn Z. Kutler, a partner at Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis LLP and former Policy Committee Co-Chair for Seventy, is the newly elected Vice-Chair.

Five new members were elected to the Board of Directors:

  • John G. Chou, Executive Vice President & General Counsel, AmerisourceBergen Corporation
  • Lisa Detwiler, Senior Vice President & General Counsel, FS Investment Solutions, LLC
  • Anne Marie Hughes, Senior Vice President, Global Banking Market Director, Wells Fargo
  • Judith Mondre, CEO, Mondre Energy
  • Courtney Gilligan Saleski, Partner, DLA Piper

Finally, two members were elected to the Board, Emeritus Directors:

  • Graham Humes, retired investment banker who first joined the Committee of Seventy Board in 1961 who twice served terms as the organization's chair.
  • Edward “Ned” Dunham, Of Counsel to Kleinbard and former Chair of the Committee of Seventy Board.

# # #

The Committee of Seventy is an independent and nonpartisan advocate for better government in Philadelphia and Pennsylvania. For more information, visit